Conference History

Conference History

The Texas Volunteer Management Conference, powered by VolunteerNow, is the leading educational event for current and emerging volunteer management professionals in Texas and neighboring states. Throughout its 30-year history, the conference has provided an opportunity to learn from top level speakers, trainers and leaders who are outstanding in their fields.

Conference Themes: TVMC conference themes have ranged from Building Epic Volunteer Engagement (2018) to Volunteerism: The Spirit of America (2002). Other years, the conference focus has included organizational change and capacity building, building a better community through service, networking and celebrating volunteer management expertise.

Conference Partners: TVMC would not be made possible without the dedicated support of three organizations that year after year have provided leadership, guidance and financial support. We are grateful to the Dallas Association of Directors of Volunteers (DADV), Directors of Volunteers in Agencies (DOVIA) and VolunteerNow for their continued support.

2018 workshops
2019 Workshops
2021 Workshops

Distinguished Keynotes: Each year, TVMC is headlined by an engaging and dynamic keynote speakers. Past TVMC Distinguished Keynote Speakers include:

The City of McKinney Mayor George Fuller, 2019

First Lady Maylee Thomas Fuller, 2019

Dr. Kristin Guillory, 2018

Dr. Kimberly Clay, 2017

Sam Santiago, 2015

Paige DeLeon, 2014

Sarah Jane Rehnborg, 2013

Jill Fixler, 2012

Martin Cowling, 2011

Mack Fuller, 2010

Gary Gifkim, 2009

Randy Snow, 2008

Nancy Gaston, 2007

Max Jaffe, 2006

Deb Lewin, 2005

Bryan Dodge, 2004

Scott Murray, 2003

Rena Pederson, 2002

Todd Whitehorse, 2001

Tom Luce, 2000

Gayle Punch, 1999

John McCaa, 1998

Vicki Clark, 1997

Fred Roach and Carolyn Corbin, 1996

John Criswell and Bryan Flanagan, 1995

David Maldonado and Steve Blow, 1994

Susie Humphreys and Peggy Outon, 1993

Ramona Logan, 1992

Conference Leadership: Members of the TVMC Planning Committee bring professional expertise in volunteer engagement, event planning and leadership as they collaborate to build an enriching and educational event. Past TVMC Chairs include:

Judy Shannon, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021

Millicent Boykin, 2017, 2004, 2003, 2002

Kim Pinter, 2015, 2014

Amira Barger, 2013

Telesa Walton, 2012

Lorrie Anderson, 2011, 2010, 2009, 2008, 2007

Marilyn Hughes, 2006, 2005

Mary Beth Harrington, 2001

Sheila Miller, 2000

Angie McAdory, 1999

Sharon Walker, 1998

Martha Dealey, 1997

Mary Brown, 1992

Your speakers were top-notch, as were the topics chosen.